Division of Student Services

   

Ms. Martha Z. Harris, Administrative Director
mharris1@dadeschools.net
Ms. Debra Albo-Steiger, Program Manager
Debalbo@dadeschools.net
Ms. Carolina Camacho, MSW, Homeless Liaison – South schools
CarolinaCamacho@dadeschools.net
Ms. Ana Knapp, MSW, Homeless Liaison – North schools
aknapp@dadeschools.net
Ms. Maira Leon, Community Liaison Specialist
mleon1@dadeschools.net5
Ms. Herna Bien-Aime, Community Liaison Specialist
hbien001@dadeschools.net
Ms. Vicky Checo, Community Liaison Specialist
vcheco@dadeschools.net
305-995-7558


iCount Miami


Through a collaboration with the Homeless Trust and the Miami Coalition for the Homeless, the Division of Student Services' Project UP-START, the Homeless Education Program, is assisting in the completion the Unaccompanied Homeless Youth "iCount Miami" survey.  This survey will be administered annually in January throughout all M-DCPS schools.  It is anticipated that the results of this survey will aid The Miami-Dade Homeless Trust and the Miami Coalition for the Homeless in its efforts to promote advocacy as well as increase funding and appropriate services for all unaccompanied homeless youth in Miami-Dade County. School Homeless Liaisons will receive information and materials about the iCount in the Fall of each school year.

On behalf of our school district, county, and communities, we thank you for taking time to complete the survey and hope the end result brings about needed improvements to this current condition that affects so many youth.

If you, or someone you know, is living on your own and in need of services, please contact Project UP-START staff for assistance.

Services include:
Enrollment assistance
Transportation requests for those who are eligible
Backpack and school supplies
Uniform referrals
Holiday gifts
A visit to the “UP-START Shop” to pick up clothing, shoes, accessories, food, toiletries and more

 

 

Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response
to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.