Division of Student Services

   

Ms. Martha Z. Harris, Administrative Director
mharris1@dadeschools.net
Ms. Debra Albo-Steiger, Program Manager
Debalbo@dadeschools.net
Ms. Carolina Camacho, MSW, Homeless Liaison – South schools
CarolinaCamacho@dadeschools.net
Ms. Ana Knapp, MSW, Homeless Liaison – North schools
aknapp@dadeschools.net
Ms. Maira Leon, Community Liaison Specialist
mleon1@dadeschools.net5
Ms. Herna Bien-Aime, Community Liaison Specialist
hbien001@dadeschools.net
Ms. Vicky Checo, Community Liaison Specialist
vcheco@dadeschools.net
305-995-7558


The McKinney-Vento Act (42 U.S.C. §§11431 et seq.)


“SEC. 725. DEFINITIONS.
‘For purpose of this subtitle…

(2) The term “homeless children and youths’—
  (A) Means individuals who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence (within the meaning of section 103(a)(1)); and
  (B) Includes—
    (i) children and youths who are sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason; are living in motels, hotels, trailer parks, or camping grounds due to the lack of alternative adequate accommodations; are living in emergency or transitional shelters; are abandoned in hospitals; or are awaiting foster care placement;
    (ii) children and youths who have a primary nighttime residence that is a public or private place not designer for or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings (within the meaning 1 of section 103(a)(2)(C));
    (iii) children and youths who are living in cars, parks, public spaces, abandoned buildings, substandard housing, bus or train stations, or similar settings; and
    (iv) migratory children (as such term is defined in section 1309 of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965) who qualify as homeless for the purposes of this subtitle because the children are living in circumstances described in clauses (i) through (iii),”

 

 

Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response
to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.