Division of Student Services

   

Ms. Martha Z. Harris, Administrative Director
mharris1@dadeschools.net
Ms. Debra Albo-Steiger, Program Manager
Debalbo@dadeschools.net
Ms. Carolina Camacho, MSW, Homeless Liaison – South schools
CarolinaCamacho@dadeschools.net
Ms. Ana Knapp, MSW, Homeless Liaison – North schools
aknapp@dadeschools.net
Ms. Maira Leon, Community Liaison Specialist
mleon1@dadeschools.net5
Ms. Herna Bien-Aime, Community Liaison Specialist
hbien001@dadeschools.net
Ms. Vicky Checo, Community Liaison Specialist
vcheco@dadeschools.net
305-995-7558


Project Services


Project UP-START staff assists with the day-to-day case management of students identified as homeless.
Project UP-START staff works with School Homeless Liaisons and school staff on the identification, enrollment, transportation requests, and supporting the overall needs of students in transition.
Training is provided to the appointed School Homeless Liaison regarding the McKinney Vento Act and all policies and procedures related to students in transition.
Training is provided to school registrars on the procedures of registering homeless students.
Training is provided to school counselors, school social workers, and all M-DCPS staff who request training regarding the social and academic needs of homeless students.
Tutoring is available to homeless students at select shelters.
Counseling is available to students at select shelters.
Parenting groups and workshops are provided by Project UP-START counselors at select shelters.
Transportation is provided to students that remain at their school of origin and live over 2 miles away.
An online homeless sensitivity and awareness curriculum is available to be implemented in elementary and secondary schools.
Presentations regarding homeless issues are available at school sites at the request of the administration.

 

 

Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response
to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.